Orange Drop Cookies with Frosting!

Buttons and her yoke!
Buttons and her yoke!

Hi Friends!

Hello, and ready for cooking up some cookies for the holidays that is me! Jordan noticed I was getting out of the barnyard a bit too often so she put a yoke on me so I’d stay put. So now that I am where I am supposed to be I am getting ready for the holidays in a big way. Big pies, cakes and cookies! Yum Yum! Pudge and all the barn pals are looking forward to Thanksgiving here on the farm. I think you’ll enjoy this recipe too!

Easy, tasty and oh so divine! Old fashioned Orange Drops from my Grandma. A family favorite anytime!

Orange Drop Cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup shortening
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 cup sour milk
1/2 cup orange juice
4 1/2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Blend shortening, sugar and eggs together. Add sifted dry ingredients alternately with the liquid. Drop by spoonfuls on a greased cookie sheet. Bake in 375 degree oven for 10 minutes. Ice when cool. Makes about five dozen cookies.

Icing:

Combine one 1 lb box powdered sugar, the grated rind and juice of one orange.

These cookies will be a great favorite with the children!

Leave a Reply

